The Pulitzer’s

Compared to other book prizes, the Pulitzer recognizes books that invariably knock my socks off. So I thought it might be rewarding — and ambitious — to try to read them all.  Ones that I’ve already read are bolded, and if I read them and reviewed them, you can follow the link to my thoughts.


1917: none

1918: His Family, Ernest Poole

1919: The Magnificent Ambersons, Booth Tarkington


1920: none

1921: The Age of Innocence, Edith Wharton

1922: Alice Adams, Booth Tarkington

1923: One of Ours, Willa Cather

1924: The Able McLaughlins, Margaret Wilson

1925: So Big, Edna Ferber

1926: Arrowsmith, Sinclair Lewis

1927: Early Autumn, Louis Bromfield

1928: The Bridge of San Luis Rey, Thornton Wilder

1929: Scarlet Sister Mary, Julia Peterkin


1930: Laughing Boy, Oliver La Farge

1931: Years of Grace, Margaret Ayer Barnes

1932: The Good Earth, Pearl S. Buck

1933: The Store, Thomas Sigismund Stribling

1934: Lamb in His Bosom, Caroline Miller

1935: Now in November, Josephine Winslow Johnson

1936: Honey in the Horn, Harold L. Davis

1937: Gone with the Wind, Margaret Mitchell

1938: The Late George Apley, John Phillips Marquand

1939: The Yearling, Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings


1940: The Grapes of Wrath, John Steinbeck

1941: none

1942: In This Our Life, Ellen Glasgow

1943: Dragon’s Teeth, Upton Sinclair

1944: Journey in the Dark, Martin Flavin

1945: A Bell for Adano, John Hersey

1946: none

1947: All the King’s Men, Robert Penn Warren

1948: Tales of the South Pacific, James A. Michener

1949: Guard of Honor, James Gould Cozzens


1950: The Way West, A. B. Guthrie, Jr.

1951: The Town, Conrad Richter

1952: The Caine Mutiny, Herman Wouk

1953: The Old Man and the Sea, Ernest Hemingway

1954: none

1955: A Fable, William Faulkner

1956: Andersonville, MacKinlay Kantor

1957: none

1958: A Death in the Family, James Agee

1959: The Travels of Jaime McPheeters, Robert Lewis Taylor


1960: Advise and Consent, Allen Drury

1961: To Kill a Mockingbird, Harper Lee

1962: The Edge of Sadness, Edwin O’Conner

1963: The Reivers, William Faulkner

1964: none

1965: The Keepers of the House, Shirley Ann Grau

1966: The Collected Stories of Katherine Anne Porter, Katherine Anne Porter

1967: The Fixer, Bernard Malmud

1968: The Confessions of Nat Turner, William Styron

1969: House Made of Dawn, N. Scott Momaday


1970: The Collected Stories of Jean Stafford, Jean Stafford

1971: none

1972: Angel of Repose, William Stegner

1973: The Optimist’s Daughter, Eudora Welty

1974: none

1975: The Killer Angels, Michael Shaara

1976: Humbolt’s Gift, Saul Bellow

1977: none

1978: Elbow Room, James Alan McPherson

1979: The Stories of John Cheever, John Cheever


1980: The Executioner’s Song, Norman Mailer

1981: A Confederacy of Dunces, John Kennedy Toole

1982: Rabbit is Rich, John Updike

1983: The Color Purple, Alice Walker

1984: Ironweed, William Kennedy

1985: Foreign Affairs, Allison Lurie

1986: Lonesome Dove, Larry McMurtry

1987: A Summons to Memphis, Peter Taylor

1988: Beloved, Toni Morrison

1989: Breathing Lessons, Anne Tyler


1990: The Mambo Kings Play Songs of Love, Oscar Hijuelos

1991: Rabbit at Rest, John Updike

1992: A Thousand Acres, Jane Smiley

1993: A Good Scent from a Strange Mountain, Robert Olen Butler

1994: The Shipping News, E. Annie Proulx

1995: The Stone Diaries, Carol Shields

1996: Independence Day, Richard Ford

1997: Martin Dressler: A Tale of an American Dreamer, Steve Millhauser

1998: American Pastoral, Philip Roth

1999: The Hours, Michael Cunningham


2000: Interpreter of Maladies, Jhumpa Lahiri

2001: The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay, Michael Chabon

2002: Empire Falls, Richard Russo

2003: Middlesex, Jeffrey Eugenides

2004: The Known World, Edward P. Jones

2005: Gilead, Marilynne Robinson

2006: March, Geraldine Brooks

2007: The Road, Cormac McCarthy

2008: The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao, Junot Diaz

2009: Olive Kitteridge, Elizabeth Strout


2010: Tinkers, Paul Harding

2011: A Visit from the Goon Squad, Jennifer Egan

2012: none

2013: The Orphan Master’s Son, Adam Johnson

2014: The Goldfinch, Donna Tartt

2015: All the Light We Cannot See, Anthony Doerr

2016: The Sympathizer, Viet Thanh Nguyen

2017: The Underground Railroad, Colin Whitehead

2018: Less, Andrew Sean Greer

2019: The Overstory, Richard Powers


2020: The Nickel Boys, Colin Whitehead

2021: The Night Watchman, Louise Erdrich